Caramelized Onion, Sweet Potato, Bacon Quiche

Quiche 1

I have a slightly unhealthy obsession with Sweet Potatoes. And I honestly have no idea where this deep-seated love for sweet potatoes comes from or how to explain it. Especially since I used to hate them.

Quiche 2

Every Thanksgiving I’ve ever attended has had some form of sweet potato casserole and until recently I used to avoid this dish. Now it’s one of my favorite things to eat during Thanksgiving. But wait a minute, Thanksgiving is over and I’m still obsessed and not satiated. I need more sweet potatoes!

Luckily, the place I work always has grilled sweet potato slices on hand. Suffice to say, these perfectly grilled sweet potato slices aren’t safe from my greedy hands. Which is probably why the cooks I work with have started hiding them from me (Yes. This is highly unfair and a huge injustice). So I’ve had to resort to making them in my own home so that I get my requisite weekly amount.

Quiche 3

This quiche is a perfect way for me, or anyone, to get their sweet potato fix. It is layered with bacon (another one of my food obsessions), and caramelized onions (another item I used to hate and can’t get enough of now), with Gruyere. The great thing about quiches is that they’re good both warm and cold. Which is great when you’re too hungry and too lazy to warm your slice up.

Caramelized Onion, Sweet Potato, Bacon Quiche

I’m going to level with you. Joy the Baker knows what she’s talking about when it comes to pie dough. The woman has never led me astray and she won’t lead you astray either. Which is why I used her Pie Crust recipe. Just switch out the all purpose flour for whole wheat.

Or just buy a pre-made pastry crust.

Filling

1 medium sized Sweet Potato

2 tablespoons Olive Oil

½ teaspoon Cayenne

Salt

Pepper

12 ounces Bacon

1 Red Onion

8 ounces Gruyere

3 eggs

1 cup Buttermilk

 

Preheat oven to 350 F

  • Skin one sweet potato and cut into half-inch rounds. Place in a mixing bowl and add 1-tablespoon olive oil, ¼ teaspoon cayenne, salt and pepper to taste. Mix until rounds are coated. Bake 15 minutes. Flip. Bake an additional 10 minutes
  • Place bacon on a foil lined baking sheet and cook 15-20 minutes until slightly undercooked
  • Sauté 1 red onion with a tablespoon olive oil mixing every minute or so until caramelized. They will be translucent and slightly browned.
  • Grate 8 oz. of Gruyere
  • Mix together eggs, buttermilk, ¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper, ¼ teaspoon garlic powder, ½ teaspoon pepper, and salt together
  • Cut bacon into 1 inch pieces and place at the bottom of crust, layer sweet potato on top, add caramelized onions, add shredded gruyere, cover in egg mixture
  • Bake 45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean
Leave a Reply

