Profiteroles with Lavender Cream

Profiterole1

We all have that fun, show stopping dessert that not only impresses, but is also extremely easy to make. For me, that dessert is profiteroles. Don’t let these seemingly daunting puffs fool you. These delectable bites are easy to make and still leave a lasting impression.

Profiterole 2

I remember the first time I learned to make these was in high school. My culinary instructor was a wiz at making different French desserts and these were one of the first recipes she taught us how to make. I quickly began making profiteroles en masse. This was a mistake.

My mother ended up taking a small batch of these desserts to work and the next thing I knew, I was making profiteroles left and right. My mother’s co-workers couldn’t get enough. Finally, fourteen year old me snapped under profiterole pressure and had to stop baking profiteroles for my mother’s co-workers.

Profiterole 3.jpg

After taking a long break from baking profiteroles I decided it was time to break out my old high school recipe and overcome my puff anxiety. Suffice to say, I’m glad I did. These are just as good as I remember and still just as easy.

 

Filling

Lavender Cream

1 ½ cup heavy whipping cream

3 tablespoons powdered sugar

1 tablespoon lavender syrup

 

Place metal mixing bowl and whisk attachment into freezer for ten minutes. Place ingredients inside mixing bowl and whisk until stiff peaks form (Roughly 5 minutes)

 

Chocolate Dip

8 ounces dark chocolate

4 ounces milk chocolate

2 tablespoons coconut oil

 

Mix ingredients in a double boiler (or a medium sized saucepan filled halfway with water and a medium sized metal mixing bowl placed on top) until ingredients have melted.

 

Assembly

 

Fill a pastry bag with the whip cream and fill the puffs until almost bursting.

Then dip the puffs in the melted chocolate and sprinkle with lavender.

Allow the puffs to cool for 30 minutes in a refrigerator before serving.

Leave a Reply

